Call To Action: Oppose Senate Bill #462 and Allow for Mandatory Inclusionary Zoning

Senate Bill #462

By changing the wording from “inclusionary zoning” to “voluntary economic incentive policies,” this bill seeks to preclude the possibility of mandatory inclusionary zoning  (our Smart Housing Mix). Mandatory inclusionary zoning addresses economic segregation, where people with low incomes live in one part of town while high-income people live in a different part. Children who grow up in neighborhoods with very high poverty rates have a harder time succeeding in their future careers.

This bill is being heard on Wednesday, April 18th at the House Committee On Municipal, Parochial, and Cultural Affairs. We encourage you to reach out and voice your opposition to this bill that seeks to halt our efforts towards mandatory inclusionary zoning in New Orleans and elsewhere in the State.

 

Sample Email:

 

Dear Representative,

 

I am contacting you to call on you to vote no on Senator Martiny’s Senate Bill 462. The bill is up for a vote in your committee, the House Committee On Municipal, Parochial, and Cultural Affairs, on Wednesday, April 18th. SB 462 is detrimental to the development of affordable housing in our state. (Add your chosen targeted message from below).

 

Thank you,

(Your name)

 

Choose one or more targeted messages below:

 

By changing the wording from “inclusionary zoning” to “voluntary economic incentive policies,” this bill seeks to preclude the possibility of mandatory inclusionary zoning, which, as you know, is well in the works in New Orleans with our Smart Housing Mix and in talks around the state. 

 

Mandatory inclusionary zoning addresses economic segregation

One study found that a parent’s income makes less of a difference to a child’s future economic success than the zip code where they grow up. Mandatory inclusionary zoning proposes housing policies that help ensure people with lower incomes still have quality housing choices.

 

Mandatory inclusionary zoning is needed because federal housing programs are shrinking

Historically, affordable housing developers have relied heavily on federal dollars to fund the purchase of land and to pay for construction. With federal funding drying up, local solutions are becoming more important across the country, especially local solutions where the market growth can help pay for more affordable homes.

 

We need a mandatory inclusionary zoning because the market won’t correct itself

The economics are such that the only way that market-rate developers can afford to build something new is to build for higher income residents. That way, they can charge high prices to recoup their costs and also pay back their debts to investors.

 

Mandatory inclusionary zoning addresses sustained affordability

Several cities in Louisiana are facing an affordable housing crisis. Housing costs are rising, yet wages have remained stagnant. Increasingly, we are seeing awareness around affordable units coming offline now and in the coming years. This will only serve to aggravate the issue.

 

Cities across the country are adopting Smart Housing Mixes.

Over 800 jurisdictions across the country have adopted inclusionary zoning policies, and the Supreme Court has upheld Inclusionary Zoning laws in a recent case in November 2017. [https://www.planetizen.com/news/2017/11/95626-us-supreme-court-wont-overturn-californias-inclusionary-zoning-laws]

 

Committee members:

Representative John A. Berthelot (Chairman)

Phone: 225.647.5646; Email: berthelotj@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Mike Huval

Phone: 337.332.3331, Email: huvalm@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Robert E. Billiot

Phone: 504.436.8929, Email: billiotr@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Joseph Bouie, Jr.

Phone: 504.286.1033; Email: bouiej@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Paula Davis

Phone: 225.362.5301; Email: davisp@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Stephen C. Dwight

Phone: 337.491.2315, Email: dwights@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Rick Edmonds

Phone: 225.295.9240, Email: edmondsr@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Cedric Glover

Phone: 318.221.7775, Email: gloverc@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Stephanie Hilferty

Phone: 504.885.4154, Email: hilfertys@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Sam L. Jenkins, Jr.

Phone: 318.632.5970, Email: jenkinss@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Rodney Lyons

Phone: 504.510.5417, Email: lyonsr@legis.la.gov

 

Representative C. Denise Marcelle

Phone: 225.359.9362, Email: marcelled@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Barbara M. Norton

Phone: 318.632.5887, Email: nortonb@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Stephen E. Pugh

Phone: 985.386.7844, Email: pughs@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Jerome Richard

Phone: 985.447.0999, Email: richardj@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Patricia Haynes Smith

Phone: 225.342.7106, Email: smithp@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Joseph A. Stagni

Phone: 504.465.3479, Email: stagnij@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Malinda B. White

Phone: 985.730.2147, Email: whitema@legis.la.gov

 

Representative Mark Wright

Phone: 985.893.6262, Email: wrightm@legis.la.gov

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s